Woman of Creation

Image

My friend owns this sculpture by Charles Gagnon. She has always caught my eye and I couldn’t resist sharing her with the world. While I worked at the downtown Marriott in Rochester, Minnesota I was privileged to meet Charles and his wife, Arlyn.

I had talked with Charles on the phone a few years ago about The Woman of Creation. He told me she has a counterpart sculpture titled The Man of Creation. He was such a sweet man to take the time to chat with me and invited me out to the studio. Regretfully, I never got the chance to make that happen. Lesson learned.

I was saddened to read the news of Charles passing last year. His Peace Plaza sculpture is a water fountain and center piece for the city of Rochester. Many times on hot days my daughter would run around the fountain and splash in the water, usually attracting a few other kids to do the same.

Charles’ sculptures brings much beauty to the world and I am so honored to have met the Gagnons and hope to visit their home studio in the future.

I hope the two sculptures (Woman and Man of Creation) can reunite someday, if only to take a few photos for another blog!

http://www.antiquescove.biz/art/vintage-bronze-abstract-woman-sculpture-charles-eugene-gagnon-art.html

Ihttp://www.postbulletin.com/news/local/sculptor-who-created-peace-plaza-fountain-dies/article_92886a81-5d12-57e9-a292-17e182deed4b.html

P1020525Image

2 thoughts on “Woman of Creation

Leave a Reply

